MAALSTROM

by Glenn Lazar Roberts. The ruthless warrior-noble of the ancient City of Ven, Flores of the Turlicum, is plunged into a series of vicious wars on the alien planet Maalstrom. Crafting bloody encounters, Roberts takes Flores deep in the mysteries that underlie the planet’s weird species which seem somehow engaged in inter-breeding. An environmental tale of balance among separate species? Or the ultimate war between the several sexes of a single race that was once humanoid? Stumbling into the forbidden Temple, Flores falls for the beautiful priestess Amina, and unleashes events that threaten to undermine the planet’s inter-species truce. Written in stunningly beautiful language, the sound of the words and the rhythm of the sentences, as Roberts asserts, contain part of the message.

REVIEWS:

“Glenn Lazar Roberts is one of the finest writers of unconventional prose in contemporary fiction. His wonderfully inventive plots and mastery of the language place him in the company of Calvino, Burges, Gass… Roberts has created a world of scary prescience and hair-raising adventure… Maalstrom is not only highly imaginative, it’s a splendid work that commands an enthusiastic and committed readership. Highly recommended.” —C. Thorman, author of Holy Orders

“Maalstrom is packed with intrigue, backdoor deals, betrayal, and one heck-of-a fantasy adventure finale. Flores [is] a thinking-man’s-barbarian [in] a classic hero adventure story…a meticulously crafted tale with…an interesting exploration of religion’s impact on culture. If you enjoy…”Game of Thrones”, “John Carter Warlord of Mars”, “Joseph Campbell”, or “Prince of Persia” you’ll enjoy visiting Maalstrom… You may notice that women are strangely out of the picture, but just wait…”—J. Picha

“In Maalstrom, Glenn Lazar Roberts has created an imaginary world filled with exotic creatures and strange customs, and is consistent in its details and at the same time, a reflection of our own world. Maalstrom’s inhabitants are human, with very human strengths and weaknesses, even though the culture is drastically different from anything the reader has ever experienced. The story revolves around Flores, a nobleman of the clan of Turlicum in the city of Vensor. Flores is fighting a political battle to save the city from a corrupt cabal of politicians led by the evil Numsenmur of the Serclasler clan. The intrigue sweeps back and forth as first one side and then the other gain the upper hand. As an invading army lays siege to Vensor, Flores is forced to flee the city in the company of a beautiful priestess, a eunuch and an enslaved warrior. Their adventures on the road form the second half of the book. The suspense and the action never let up. There is always a new twist and a mystery that entices the reader to keep going. Even without all of the intrigue and action, the exotic civilization of Maalstrom is in itself enough to warrant reading just to explore it. This is the kind of book that will keep you up all night reading it.” —Mike Kilgore

“In the tradition of Burroughs and Howard, Roberts give us an exciting story that takes place in the city of Ven as Flores, warlord of the Turlicum clan struggles to assume his rightful place. Inventive, absorbs the reader and takes him or her to places never dreamed of.” —Roger Paulding, author of Solomon’s Journey

BUY:

Maalstrom on Amazon